Have questions? Call us at 701-222-0386 or 1-800-337-3160 | Cando: (701) 968-4056

Meet Our Staff

Heartview Foundation has a staff of approximately 35 full-time, part-time, and contracted professionals. The staff is made up of highly-trained, experienced professionals in the addiction treatment field.

Addiction counselors, nurses, social workers, a mental health worker, a psychologist, a physician specially trained in addiction care, a chaplain, chiropractor, certified yoga instructor, art instructor, chemical dependency technicians, and many and others will all be involved in treating your illness. 

Together, we will work with you and your family or loved ones to help you maintain abstinence from alcohol or drugs and begin a new life.

If you are interested in applying at Heartview Foundation please fill out our application.
Send it to:   Heartview Foundation         or email to:      info@heartview.org
                        101 E.Broadway Ave                                                    Application(pdf)
                        Bismarck, ND 58501                                                    Application(fillable pdf)

 

Key members of our professional staff that may be involved in your care are listed below.

Administration
Medical Director
Psychology
Counseling
Nursing
Business
Health Information Management
Grant Management
Cando Facility Staff

01 Administration

kurtsnyder_1.png Image

Kurt A. Snyder, MMGT, LSW, LAC

Executive Director

kurt@heartview.org

Kurt has been the Executive Director at Heartview Foundation since January 2005. In addition to holding a Master’s in Management, Kurt is also a Licensed Social Worker and a Licensed Addiction Counselor. Kurt works under the Board of Directors in providing financial, clinical, personnel, and technical oversight for Heartview. He is active in many state and national organizations related to addiction treatment, bringing cutting edge knowledge to the Heartview staff and opportunities for input in many addiction treatment arenas.  

 
jessicabrewster_1.png Image

Jessica Brewster, LAC

Chief Operating Officer

jessicab@heartview.org

Jessica joined the staff in July 2019.

 

02 Medical Director

missyhenke_1.png Image

Melissa J. Henke, MD

Medical Director

heartview_nurse@heartview.org

Dr. Henke, Board Certified in Internal Medicine, Psychiatry and Addiction Medicine, serves as Heartview’s Medical Director.  In that capacity, Dr. Henke participates in interdisciplinary case review, develops and oversees patient medical protocols, reviews nursing assessments for appropriate withdrawal management, and confers with the interdisciplinary team regarding patient care management. She also provides medical oversight to the Medication-Assisted Therapy program and ongoing care to individual patients. Dr. Henke serves on the Governor’s Counsel for Recovery Reinvented as well as the Medical Director of the North Dakota Professional Health Program.

 

03 Psychology

matthew_doppler-staff-photo.jpg Image

Matthew Doppler, Ph.D.

Clinical Psychologist

heartview_nurse@heartview.org

Dr. Doppler, is employed by Sanford Behavioral Health in Bismarck as well as providing psychological services at Heartview.  He engages in weekly consultation with Heartview’s Interdisciplinary team.  Dr. Doppler reviews patients’ psychological testing, determines the need for psychiatric referrals, makes treatment recommendations, establishes psychological testing protocols for adolescents and adults, and reviews individual cases, upon request.

 

Mark Doerner, PHD

Clinical Psychologist

heartview_nurse@heartview.org

Dr. Doerner provides psychological services at Heartview. Dr. Doerner is an experienced psychologist who recognizes the importance of access to behavioral health services to people who live and work in rural settings. He works with people of all ages who face a wide variety of challenges. 

 

04 Counseling

karaleeharper_1.png Image

Karalee Harper, MMgt, LAC

Compliance Officer, Education and Training Coordinator

karaleeh@heartview.org

Karalee completed her Bachelor of Science in Addiction Counseling and Masters in Management from the University of Mary. Karalee brings almost 20 years' experience in the addiction profession with a variety of experiences including being the Chronic Disease Director at the ND Department of Health. Karalee joined Heartview in May 2018. 

 
christyanderson_1.png Image

Christy Anderson, BA, LAC

Director of Outpatient/Evaluation Services

christya@heartview.org

Christy graduated from Minot State University with a degree in Addiction Studies in 1999 and in 2000 she received her Licensed Addiction Counselor status. Her first job was at North Central Human Service Center in Minot, ND working in various programs. She has also been employed at the ND State Penitentiary with her last place of employment being at the Prairie Learning Center in Raleigh, ND. Christy was employed there for 12 years. Christy has served on various addiction related boards such as the NDACA-ND Addiction Counseling Association and NDATPC-ND Addiction Treatment Provider’s Coalition. 

 
kelseylebere_1.png Image

Kelsey LaBere, LPCC

Director of Day Treatment and Mental Health Services

kelseyl@heartview.org

Kelsey worked in our residence while going to school and in 2016 she obtained a Masters Degree in Clinical Mental Health Counseling and is licensed as an LPCC. She provides individual and group counseling as well as other mental health services for patients in need. She is also trained as a Tobacco Treatment Specialist and provides tobacco cessation services. 

 

Brianna Krause, LAC

Director of Opioid Treatment Program

briannak@heartview.org

Brianna joined the staff in March 2021. She is currently the Director of the OTP Program.

 
karissakautzman_1.png Image

Karissa Kautzman, BS, LAC

Licensed Addiction Counselor

karissa@heartview.org

Karissa, a Hettinger native, completed her Addiction Studies with a minor in Business Administration through Minot State University, earning a Bachelor of Science degree. She interned at Heartview and West Central Human Service Center and was hired by Heartview during her internship. Karissa currently facilitates Day Treatment.

 
brucecarlson_1.png Image

Bruce Carlson, LAC

Licensed Addiction Counselor

bruce@heartview.org

Bruce has been working as a counselor in the addiction field since 1985. He has been with Heartview since 2004. He is a highly experienced counselor. Bruce provides direct patient care in Friday continuing care group. Bruce is partially retired. 

 
marjeanschwehr_1.png Image

Marjean Schwehr, LAC

Licensed Addiction Counselor

marjean@heartview.org

Marjean joined the Heartview staff January of 2013.  She has been an addiction counselor since 2003 with previous employment at Prairie Learning Center and the Bismarck Transition Center.  Marjean completes comprehensive evaluations and works with the  evening Continuing Care program.

 
darcyolson_1.png Image

Darcy Olson, LMAC

Licensed Master Addiction Counselor

darcy@heartview.org

Originally from Williston, ND, Darcy returned to the state after 24 years in Minnesota working at a variety of positions in the chemical dependency field.  Prior to his employment at Heartview, Darcy was in private practice offering two outpatient programs to jail inmates in Becker County, MN.  Darcy obtained a BA degree from Minot State University in 1986, majoring in addiction studies, and earned his Masters of Education degree in 1988 from North Dakota State University, with a focus on addiction studies. Darcy has been employed with Heartview since July of 2011 and currently facilitates the IOP (Intensive Outpatient Program) in the evenings. 

 
rogerpeet_1.png Image

Roger Peet, LAC

Licensed Addiction Counselor

roger@heartview.org

Roger joined the Heartview staff in March 2013. He has a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of Mary with Post Baccalaureate work in addiction counseling. Roger started his addiction counseling career in 1994 and spent the entire time working at the North Dakota State Penitentiary. Roger completes comprehensive patient assessments and is currently working with the Opioid Treatment Program (OTP).         

 
nataleestorey_1.png Image

Natalee Storey, BS, LAC

Licensed Addiction Counselor

natalee@heartview.org

Natalee has been employed at the Heartview Foundation since March 2014.  She obtained a Bachelor’s Degree in Criminal Justice from MSUM in 2009 and then went on to complete her Addiction Studies coursework through Minot State. Natalee currently completes comprehensive patient evaluations.

 
carleeeckert_1.png Image

Carlee Eckert, LAC

Licensed Addiction Counselor

carlee@heartview.org

Carlee started working at Heartview in the Fall of 2014. She currently facilitates a Day Treatment group.

 
lisaroth_1.png Image

Lisa Roth, LAC

Licensed Addiction Counselor

lisa@heartview.org

Lisa joined the Heartview staff officially in 2016 after being hired following her internship. Lisa worked in the Opioid Treatment Program (OTP) and has now transferred to facilitation of Day treatment at the 23rd Street location.

 
laynsabot_1.png Image

Layn Sabot, LAC, LAPC

Licensed Addiction Counselor

layn@heartview.org
 
mollywitthauer_1.png Image

Molly Witthauer, LAC

Licensed Addiction Counselor

mollyw@heartview.org
 
shannonhuber_1.png Image

Shannon Huber, LAC

Licensed Addiction Counselor

shannonh@heartview.org
 
lisavannote_1.png Image

Lisa Vannote, LAC

Licensed Addiction Counselor

lisav@heartview.org
 
whitneyclapp_1.png Image

Whitney Clapp, LAC

Licensed Addiction Counselor

whitneyc@heartview.org
 
sonjabosch_1.png Image

Sonja Bosch, MS, LAC

Licensed Addiction Counselor

sonjab@heartview.org
 
brookelejeune_1.png Image

Brooke LeJeune, LAC

Licensed Addiction Counselor

brookel@heartview.org
 

Morgan Turner, LAC

Licensed Addiction Counselor

morgant@heartview.org
 

Haeley Bauer, LAC

Licensed Addiction Counselor

haeleyb@heartview.org
 
cathypalczewski_1.png Image

Cathy Palczewski

Case Manager

CathyP@heartview.org
 
deannsuper_1.png Image

DeAnn Super, LBSW

Case Manager

DeAnnS@heartview.org
 
katiefranchuk_1.png Image

Katie Franchuk

Case Manager

KatieF@heartview.org
 

05 Nursing

crystalmesser_1.png Image

Crystal Messer, RN

Nurse Manager

crystalm@heartview.org

Crystal attended Medcenter One College of Nursing where she obtained a Bachelor of Science in Nursing. She then worked at Medcenter One/Sanford Hospital on a medical surgical floor where she gained experience with overdose, withdrawal, emotional and behavioral issues as well as post-surgical care until starting at Heartview in 2013.

At Heartview Crystal oversees the Nursing Department. She also works closely with Dr. Henke regarding the needs of her clients and the Buprenorphrine program.  

 
shariforschen_1.png Image

Shari Forschen, APRN-CNP

Nurse Practitioner

heartview_nurse@heartview.org
 
jamiemettler_1.png Image

Jamie Mettler, RN

Registered Nurse

jamie@heartview.org

Jamie graduated from Jamestown College in 2000 with a Bachelor’s degree in Nursing.  She joined Heartview in March 2015.  She has experience in many areas of nursing, but her most recent employment was with HIT working with traumatic brain injuries and mental health.  Jamie provides direct patient care and assists patients with detox medications, mental health services, and med assisted therapy.  She is involved in taking intake calls for patients interested in residential services and completes nursing assessments. 

 

Jessica Schneider, RN

Registered Nurse

jessie@heartview.org
 
meaganschrader_1.png Image

Meagan Schrader, RN

Registered Nurse

meaganS@heartview.org

Meagan graduated from Bismarck State College in 2012 with an Associates in Science and Sanford College of Nursing in 2014 with a Bachelor’s degree in Nursing in 2014. After graduation she started working at Sanford Hospital and specialized in Emergency and Trauma care gaining experience in many different areas of nursing including overdose, withdrawal, and mental health. She has been a nurse at Heartview Foundation since December of 2017. At Heartview, Meagan works in the OTP clinic administering methadone to clients that struggle with opiate addiction. Meagan works closely with these clients in completing nursing assessments, assisting the clients with following up with medical providers, scheduling medical appointments, providing education, and caring for any medical/physical needs addressed.  

 
mandifuchs_1.png Image

Mandi Fuchs, LPN

Licensed Practical Nurse

mandif@heartview.org
 
melodyprice_1.png Image

Melody Price, LPN

Licensed Practical Nurse

melodyp@heartview.org
 

Averee Zent, RN

Registered Nurse

avereez@heartview.org
 

Brittany Seifert, LPN

Licensed Practical Nurse

bseifert@heartview.org
 

Kimberly Cooper, RN

Registered Nurse

kimc@heartview.org
 

Luis Pasillas, RN

Registered Nurse

luisp@heartview.org
 
kaylahilbers_1.png Image

Kayla Hilbers, CNA, MAI

Lab Manager

kayla@heartview.org
 

06 Admissions

michellegrunefelder_1.png Image

Michelle Grunefelder

Director of Admissions

michelleg@heartview.org
 
sommerjohnson_1.png Image

Sommer Johnson

Admissions Coordinator

sommerj@heartview.org
 

Theresa Simons

Admissions Coordinator

theresas@heartview.org
 
lindseybeard_1.png Image

Lindsey Beard, LPN

Utilization Review Coordinator

lindseyb@heartview.org
 

Hunter Morgan

Utilization Review Coordinator

hunterm@heartview.org
 

Kristy Mahoney

Intake Coordinator

kristym@heartview.org

.

 

Kirsten Wald

Intake Coordinator

kirstenw@heartview.org
 

07 Residential Services

scottfoley_1.png Image

Scott Foley

Residential Manager

scottf@heartview.org
 

08 Business

ryanmesser_1.png Image

Ryan Messer, CPA

Chief Financial Officer

ryan@heartview.org

.

 

If you would like more information about Staff, please contact us.